Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Jaga Jazzist - The Stix

Jaga Jazzist - The Stix (2002) on Warner Music Norway/Smalltown Supersound

1. Kitty Wú
2. Day
3. Another Day
4. Reminders
5. Suomi Finland
6. Toxic Dart
7. I Could Have Killed Him In The Sauna
8. Aerial Bright Dark Round
9. Doppelganger
10. The Stix

If there's one thing I've learned in recent years, it's that Norway has one hell of a music scene. These guys are considered part of the "Scandinavian nu-jazz revival" or something, I could care less, they just kill it.

The best thing about Jaga Jazzist, as well as all Norwegian music I've been able to get my hands on, is its complete openness. The willingness to use anything as long as it appropriately adds to the music. So while Jaga Jazzist is rooted in jazz, anything is fair game. The Stix happens to be their most "electronic" sounding album, with a lot of the drumming being programmed. Sometimes they even branch into glitch and IDM territory. With 10 people in the band, all of which are multi-instrumentalists, the sound is pretty rich. I'm not going to ramble on, as the music does best by speaking for itself.

It's worth noting that this is the Norwegian version, which has a pretty different track ordering and alternate cover art to the international version released on Smalltown Supersound/Ninja Tune a year later.